On Saturday, April 1 2017 a memorial was inaugurated for the 6000 Belgian refugees during World War I in East Twickenham (the Belgian village on the Thames) stayed in London. Martine Vermandere took part in this ceremony as part of our international project Getting Started on the channel "

The budget for the memorial through crowdfunding was put together by a local historical circle around the commemoration of World War I, East Twickenham Centennial Group.

After the start of World War I, on August 4 1914, fled a fifth of the Belgian population. 1915 final had England circa 250.000 refugees, of whom 95% Belgians. A year before the French industrialist Charles Pelabon was, who owned a factory in Ruisbroek before the war, already started construction of a munitions factory on the banks of the Thames in East Twickenham. The Pelabonfabriek delivered to the Belgian Army. She suggested a small 2000 Belgians employed and formed the heart of a community of 6000 Belgians west of London. Among the 2000 employed Belgians Pelabonfabriek were women 700 or 1 to 3.

The monument was designed by the Bruges stonemason Christopher Boudensand carries a haunting inscription in English, Dutch and French, written by a girl Orleans Junior School, where during World War I also Belgian school children walked.

"The dream of memories glides across the water like a boat on the river."

You can find the memorial in the Warren Gardens, Clevedon Road, TW1 2HZ.

Photoshoot Bart Dewaele

Samedi, Avril 1 2017 un mémorial a été inauguré pour la 6000 réfugiés belges pendant la Première Guerre mondiale à Twickenham East (le village belge sur la Tamise) resté à Londres. Martine Vermandere a participé à cette cérémonie dans le cadre de notre projet international Mise en route sur le canal "

Le budget pour le mémorial par crowdfunding a été mis en place par un cercle historique local autour de la commémoration de la Première Guerre mondiale, East Centennial Group Twickenham.

Après le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, en Août 4 1914, ont fui un cinquième de la population belge. 1915 finale Angleterre avait CIRCA réfugiés 250.000, dont 95% des Belges. Un an avant l'industriel français Charles Pelabon était, propriétaire d'une usine à Ruisbroek avant la guerre, a déjà commencé la construction d'une usine de munitions sur les rives de la Tamise à Twickenham East. Le Pelabonfabriek livré à l'armée belge. Elle a suggéré un petit Belges 2000 employés et formé au cœur d'une communauté de Belges 6000 à l'ouest de Londres. Parmi les 2000 employés belges Pelabonfabriek étaient des femmes 700 ou 1 à 3.

Le monument a été conçu par le tailleur de pierre Bruges Christopher Boudenset porte une inscription envoûtante en anglais, néerlandais et français, écrit par une fille Orléans Junior School, où pendant la Première Guerre mondiale aussi les enfants des écoles belges marchions.

« Le rêve des souvenirs glisse à travers l'eau comme un bateau sur la rivière. »

Vous pouvez trouver le mémorial dans les jardins Warren, route Clevedon, TW1 2HZ.

Photoshoot Bart Dewaele