From April 2 2017 running a major exhibition on Frans Masereel in Mu.Zee in Ostend. The exhibition includes also two logs Masereel taken from the collection of Amsab-ISH.

A century ago, in 1917, Frans Masereel cut Debout les morts. Résurrection infernalA sharp indictment of the horrors of the First World War.
Debout les morts, a series of nine woodcuts and a frontispiece, a Masereels was most famous and at the same time most committed work. It also beginning of what would become characteristic of his later work: series of woodcuts, without words, in which he portrays a sharp, poignant manner of his time. Often laced with humor, intended to be understood by everyone, distributed in the form of affordable graphic novels.
One hundred years later, the work of Masereel is still topical, anti-militarism and pacifism, despite all the mischief, optimistic attitude. It is no coincidence that just when the interest in his work rekindling everywhere. There is the exhibition which runs from April to 2 3 September and June is a new film about Masereel premiere (more about that in the next newsletter).

The exhibition in Ostend will work Masereel, including two blocks from the collection of Amsab-ISH, in dialogue with contemporary society through the work of contemporary artists from Europe, the Middle East, Africa and America: Mary Evans, Anton Kannemeyer Glenn Ligon, Dan Perjovschi, Billie Zangewa, William Kentridge, Philip Aguirre y Otegui, Slavs and Tatars, Kerry James Marshall and Papa Mfumu'eto 1er. The exhibition highlights the social commitment of the artists. As Masereel approach them issues that affect them personally and they make negotiable by converting them into images.

Frans Masereel and Contemporary Art: Resistance in images
Mu.ZEE, Ostend, April 1 3 September 2017


Click here for more info about the exhibition

Click here for information on the collection of logs in Amsab-ISH

De Avril 2 2017 la gestion d'une grande exposition sur Frans Masereel à Mu.Zee à Ostende. L'exposition comprend également deux journaux Masereel pris de la collection de Amsab-ISH.

Il y a un siècle, en 1917, Frans Masereel coupé Debout les morts. infernal résurrectionUn acte d'accusation forte des horreurs de la Première Guerre mondiale.
Debout les morts, une série de neuf gravures sur bois et un frontispice, un Masereels était le plus célèbre et en même temps de travail les plus engagés. Il commence aussi de ce qui allait devenir caractéristique de son travail plus tard: série de gravures sur bois, sans paroles, dans lequel il décrit d'une manière forte, poignante de son temps. Souvent, teinté d'humour, destiné à être compris par tout le monde, distribués sous la forme de romans graphiques abordables.
Cent ans plus tard, le travail de Masereel est toujours d'actualité, anti-militarisme et le pacifisme, malgré tout le mal, l'attitude optimiste. Il est pas un hasard si juste au moment où l'intérêt pour son travail ravivant partout. Il y a l'exposition qui se déroulera du Avril à Septembre et 2 3 Juin est un nouveau film sur première Masereel (plus à ce sujet dans le prochain bulletin).

L'exposition à Ostende travaillera Masereel, y compris deux blocs de la collection de Amsab-ISH, dans le dialogue avec la société contemporaine à travers l'œuvre d'artistes contemporains de l'Europe, au Moyen-Orient, en Afrique et en Amérique: Mary Evans, Anton Kannemeyer Glenn Ligon, Dan Perjovschi, Billie Zangewa, William Kentridge, Philip Aguirre y Otegui, Slaves et Tatars, Kerry James Marshall et Papa Mfumu'eto 1er. L'exposition met en évidence l'engagement social des artistes. Comme les Masereel aborder les questions qui les touchent personnellement et ils font négociables en les convertissant en images.

Frans Masereel et Art contemporain: Résistance en images
Mu.ZEE, Ostende, Avril 1 3 Septembre 2017


Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations sur l'exposition

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations sur la collecte de journaux dans Amsab-ISH